Sri Lanka Crisis | Oppn Parties Agree To Form All-Party Interim Govt After President’s Resignation: Report

New Delhi: Amid nationwide protests that compelled President Gotabaya Rajapaksa and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe to supply their resignations, the Opposition events of Sri Lanka on Sunday agreed to kind an all-party interim authorities after the anticipated resignation of Gotabaya on Wednesday, information company PTI reported.    


Amid the political upheaval, Opposition events held talks to determine on methods to steer the nation ahead within the present financial disaster after Rajapaksa’s resignation.

“We agreed in precept to kind a authorities of unity with all events participation for an interim interval,” PTI quoted Wimal Weerawansa, of the ruling Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna celebration’s breakaway group, as saying. “This will probably be a authorities the place all events are represented,” he added.

One other chief of the SLPP breakaway group, Vasudeva Nanayakkara stated that they needn’t look ahead to Rajapaksa’s resignation on July 13.

Notably, President Rajapaksa knowledgeable Parliament Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena on Saturday that he’s able to step down from his publish on Wednesday after the nation’s opposition events demanded his resignation. Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe has additionally supplied to resign.

The primary Opposition Samagi Jana Balawegaya celebration stated that they held intensive inside discussions.

“We intention for an interim authorities of all events for a restricted interval after which go for a parliamentary election,” Ranjith Madduma Bandara, SJB normal secretary stated.

In the meantime, anti-government protesters continued to occupy the official residences of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe on Sunday, a day after they stormed the premises and set ablaze one of many buildings as a mark of agitation. The folks have been protesting in opposition to the nation’s extreme financial woes even because the whereabouts of the President continues to be not identified.

Source link

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *